Honors Night is a long standing tradition at Orange Coast College (OCC). This year we are celebrating our 63rd year of recognizing students, staff, and faculty for their service and leadership contributions and, thanks to our generous donors, we are awarding over $500,000 in scholarship money to students who have demonstrated academic excellence and have exceeded in their education at OCC.

Due to our campus closure amid COVID-19, Honors Night 2021 is going virtual! The Service & Leadership and Scholarship Award ceremonies will be held together to ensure one grand celebration! Ceremony begins Wednesday, May 26 @ 6 p.m.

A lapel pin showing surfboard and surfer in the background with text Orange Coast College Honors Night

You're Invited!




Rewatch the Ceremony

Event premiered on
May 26 @ 6 p.m.

Service & Leadership Awards

Students, Staff, and Faculty receiving a service and leadership recognition will receive an official invitation to Honors Night before Friday, May 14, 2021. Many of the awards given are not known and are unveiled during the ceremony. We love the element of surprise! Some of the awards given for service and leadership are:

  • Student Club/Organization of the Year
  • Student Club/Organization Advisor of the Year
  • ASOCC Friend of the Students
  • Costa Mesa Chamber of Commerce Les Miller Award
  • Student Athlete of the Year
  • Student Leader of the Year

Questions about Service & Leadership Awards

Student Life & Leadership Department at studentlife@occ.cccd.edu or (714) 432-5730

Scholarship Awards

Students receiving scholarships (some of you may obtain more than one scholarship) will receive an official invitation to Honors Night before Friday, May 14, 2021. Recipients honored with scholarships are not known and are unveiled during the ceremony. Highlights for the scholarship portion of the ceremony are:

  •  Basil Peterson Scholarship
  •  Costa Mesa Women's Club Scholarship
  •  David A. Grant Scholarship
  •  Hornbuckle Family Scholarship
  •  Osher Foundation Scholarship
  •  Rallis Military Veteran Scholarship
and many, many more!

Questions about Scholarship Awards

Scholarship Office at scholarshipoffice@occ.cccd.edu or (714) 432-5645

Watch our Past Events

Honors Night 2020

Honors Night 2019

Honors Night 2018

Honors Night Committees

  • Doug Bennett  
  • Maria DeNunno  
  • Erik Forssell  
  • Juan Gutierrez  
  • Kevin Holder  
  • Michael G. Morvice  
  • Kevin O’Hara  
  • Dr. Tijai Nguyen  
  • Dr. Derek Vergara - Chair 
  • Doug Bennett - Chair  
  • Michael Collier  
  • Julia Clevenger  
  • Cristina Crouth  
  • Dr. Jan Goerrissen  
  • Lauren Hitbrunner-Johnson   
  • Rene Kinn   
  • Jon Mochizuki   
  • Dr. Yvette Nguyen   
  • Dr. Tijai Nguyen   
  • Virginia Nuzzolese-Laflamme   
  • Marco Ochoa  
  • Dr. Elizabeth Parker   
  • Leland Paxton   
  • Vida Shajie   
  • Steve Tamanaha   
  • Rini Sukaesih   
  • Sean Wellengard   
  • Daniela Zhao
  • Dr. Dean Abernathy  
  • Carlos Amescua  
  • Dr. Kaveh Bahraini  
  • Gladys Calderon  
  • Michael G. Morvice - Chair  
  • Dr. Julie Nguyen